Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter Find us on Youtube View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

Citizen Charter

Trains & Timings

Passenger Services / Freight Information

Public Information


Contact Us

Corporate Social Responsibility
Hyderabad Division
Vijayawada Division
Head Quarters
Secunderabad Division
Guntur Division
Nanded Division
Guntakal Division
Swachh Rail-Swachh Bharath
Hyderabad division
Guntakal division
Guntur division
Nanded division
Vijayawada division
Press Releases
Bill Status
Applications & Bills Status
Vendor Registration
Vendor Login
Important Information
Results & Notifications
Survey & Construction
For Railway Personnel
Other information
Procedure & Application Forms
Appointment under Sports Quota
Appointment under Scouts & Guides Quota
Appointment under Scouts & Guides Quota
Appointment under Cultural Quota
Waival of Demurrage and Wharfage
Guidelines & Instructions for Registration of Contractors/ Suppliers/ Vendors for expenditure contracts
Registration of Medical Pharmaceutical firms in Chief Medical Director-s Office, South Central Railway, Secunderabad
Registration of Private Hospitals for Health Care with South Central Railway
Vendors List-Trade group wise
Submit Complaints
Public Information Regarding Train Accident
Train Accident Inquiry Reports
User Login for Vendor Registration
Accident Train Inquiry Reports
Old Notifications
Bookmark Mail this page Print this page

A Major Step by SCR towards installation of Train Collision Avoidance System(TCAS)

- For the first time o­n Indian Railways SCR successfully commissioned TCAS for a distance of 21.5 Kms between Umri & Sivungaon Stations of Hyderabad Division

South Central Railway has put o­ne more step forward towards installation of Train Collision Avoidance System (TCAS) and successfully commissioned the project for a distance of 21.5 Kms yesterday i.e., o­n 30th October, 2020 between Umri & Sivungaon stations in Mudkhed – Secunderabad section of Hyderabad Division. The installation & commissioning of TCAS between these sections by South Central Railway is for the first time o­n Indian Railways after development stage and marks the beginning of installation of TCAS project. The project was installed and executed by M/s. Medha.

During the development stage of the indigenously designed TCAS, South Central Railway has been identified to conduct the trailsin association with RDSO, Lucknow between Lingampalli – Vikarabad – Wadi & Vikarabad – Bidar sections. o­n its successful implementation, Railway Board has advised Zonal Railways to implement TCAS project.

Accordingly, o­n SCR implementation of TCAS project has been sanctioned for a distance 1200 Kms between Manmad – Nanded – Secunderabad – Dhone – Guntakal and Bidar – Parli – Parbhani sections. As a part of it, the Zone has taken initiative for early implementation of the project and now successfully completed for a distance of 21.5 Kms between Umri and Sivangi stations of Hyderabad Division which is for the first time across Indian Railways.

TCAS is an indigenously designed Automatic Train Protection (ATP) System and has been developed by Indian Railways in association with Indian manufacturers. This system is mainly aimed to have capability in preventing train accidents caused due to Signal Passed at Danger(SPAD) by train, disobedience of train speed restrictions etc. by automatic application of thebrakes should train driver fails to do so. It would, in addition, also avoid certain other collision likescenarios even in case of non-interlocked or non-signalled territory. It also provides assistance toLoco Pilots by means of real-time display of signalling related information such as MovementAuthority, Target Speed, Target Distance, Signal Aspects etc. in Loco Pilot’s cab.

TCAS system mainly consists of 3 components:

Ø Stationary TCAS un

Ø Locomotive TCAS unit

Ø RFID tags at sleepers

Some salient features of TCAS are:

ü Detection and Prevention of SPAD

ü Display of movement authority to loco pilot

ü Continuous train control

ü In-Cab Signalling

ü Loop-line Speed Control

ü Protection for Permanent Speed restrictions

ü Head-On and Rear end Collision Prevention

ü Prevention of collision (side- infringement)

Loco trials have been successfully conducted between Umri & Sivungaon stations with TCAS Diesel loco and ensured that the system is functioning correctly. Display of all signal aspects in DMI, automatic whistling at enroute LC gates, speed supervision & SPADprevention features have been perfectly observed during the trials.

TCAS installed between Umri & Sivungaon stations consists of:-

1. TCAS station unit at Sivungaon & Umri stations and Relay wiring and power supply arrangements.

2. 40m high TCAS towers & associated cabling in redundant path.

3. Programmed RFID tags in stations and in block section.

4. Established Radio Communication for FULL SUPERVISION mode

5. NMS connectivity to Divisional test room located at divisional headquarters.

Shri Gajanan Mallya, General Manager, SCR stated that Safety in the train operations is first and foremost priority in Railways and SCR will always be in the fore front in executing the works to enhance safety. He expressed his happiness o­n successful installation of TCAS between Umri & Sivungaon stations. He congratulated Officials of Hyderabad Division and Signal and Telecommunication department for their dedication in execution of the project and advised them to show the same tempo in implementation of the entire project.

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.