Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter Find us on Youtube View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

Citizen Charter

Trains & Timings

Passenger Services / Freight Information

Public Information


Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page

रेल सुरक्षा बल

Railway Protection Force

विजयवाड़ा मंडल

Vijayawada Division

running train



Vijayawada Division is located on the Howrah – Chennai and New Delhi – Chennai trunk route.  It came into existence in the year 1956 as a part of Southern Railway. It was amalgamated in South Central Railway with effect from 2nd October, 1966.Some portion of it was carved out for creation of Guntur Division with effect from 1st April 2003.Vijayawada Division forms a very vital Railway link on the Indian Railway System as ‘Gateway’ to the South. Presently this division runs through seven revenue districts viz., Visakhapatnam, East Godavari, West Godavari, Krishna, Guntur, Prakasam and Nellore renamed as Sri Potti Sriramulu Nellore Dist.The eastern half of the districts adjoining the coast of Bay of Bengal is fed by important perennial rivers like the Pennar (near Nellore), the Krishna (near Vijayawada) and the Godavari (near Rajahmundry). Vijayawada Railway station is one of the busiest Railway junctions in India.



Source : South Central Railway CMS Team Last Reviewed on: 19-12-2018  

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.